Brand New Princess

I’m not sure how I feel about the upcoming royal nuptuals, probably because I’m far enough away that the only news I’m getting about it is… well, a bit odd. Not that UK magazines are any less guilty of dramatising proceedings with secrets, diet tips and general witter, but it’s more distracting when you’re not sure why people are interested in the first place. Mind you, one that I saw on the rack today was busily claiming Princess Di is still alive, crouching in a hole somewhere in Mexico, so perhaps the royal thing is more general interest than I thought.

I’m not sure we’ll get coverage here, which is disappointing, but understandable. However, we also don’t get a day off, which is frankly rude. I’m a self-confessed lover of all things British tradition, no matter how outdated or ridiculous, particularly now I’m half a world away. I never minded paying for the Queen to gallivant about the place because, as far as I’m concerned, she is an ambassador of all that ever made England great (“Look, Philip, I’m a stamp”). And being head of a happy, friendly Commonwealth that includes nearly a third of the world’s population can’t be a bad thing, surely? Either way, I am in a particularly sentimental mood, so bear with me.

It’s not the most exciting royal wedding of my lifetime, I’ll admit. I was just about old enough to be aware of Princess Diana’s pre-Mexico adventures (although, for some reason, I do remember having issues telling the difference between her and my Auntie Lee) and I have a Fergie and Andrew mug somewhere. I even asked Aunt Mary to base my wedding bouquet on the lovely drop one the Mexican fugitive had. But, perhaps due to a lack of proximity, I’m not seeing the requisite amount of pomp and glamour this time. Or perhaps not; I think the above illustration nicely sums up my awareness of the wedding-related mood in the UK, courtesy of Pignut.

Newspaper articles such as this one also do not suggest that people are getting into the spirit of things. Which is a shame, really – they ought to think themselves lucky they’re not too far away to peruse the merchandise shelves. Can I get nice teatowels like these ones here? No I cannot.

Final thought, courtesy of McHappyPants: what is your royal wedding guest name? Start with either Lord or Lady. Your first name is the name of one of your grandparents. Your surname the name of one of your first pets, hyphenated with the name of the street you grew up on.

Mine, rather unfortunately, is Lady Diana Fluff-Durlston.

2 responses to “Brand New Princess

Leave a Reply

